Away with friends

February 26, 2012

Its the much-anticipated annual retreat – the one that involves long-standing quilting pals, a four-star hotel, good food and time to catch up on news, gather thoughts, make plans and maybe even do some stitching.  We have the use of a small conference suite so we can spread out with all our fabric and gadgets – this year everyone else is busy sewing and I appear to be glued to the laptop.  Not sure how that has happened, although I have brought a couple of stitching projects along just in case!  So here’s an indication of some of the activity -

No prizes for guessing that one of our company is Katharine Guerrier – her retreat project is to use up a whole stack of “leftover” quilt blocks of various sizes to make a new quilt top

and so far it’s looking pretty good for a “rescue” project.  We’ve each had a copy of the new Rainbow Disks  title Little Welsh Quilts by Mary Jenkins, which also looks pretty good – of course we’re all far too busy to sit down and look at it right now, but it will be something to savour when we get home

- and you’ll find Mary’s blog here for lots of other lovely things.

Hiding in a basket of fabric that arrived at the retreat was this small piece -

- from my first range of fabrics for Rose & Hubble in the 1990s, and still one of my favourites.  I’m confiscating this  taking this home to join all the others, and I might even get around to taking a few pictures and reminding myself of what the various ranges looked like …

One of the projects on my “retreat to do” list is to sort out my website and bring it up to date – not a difficult task, it will just need a little focus and concentration – and include my new pattern book on the relevant page.  Whether I achieve this or not I did want to offer a first glimpse of  the lovely work of the Volunteer Crew who so willingly made samples of some of the patterns for the book -

Maggi got carried away (in a good way) and interpreted her given design in shadow quilting using her own hand-dyed silks and sheers -

 

With samples of this quality the book should be a best-seller – thanks ladies!  full links and credits in an upcoming post …

Before I escaped  left home for the retreat I was also sorting out quilts for my exhibit at the Open European Quilt Championships in May and laying them out on a bed well away from the attentions of three prowling cats.  On our bed there’s a well-worn white strippy-style quilt  which gets covered in muddy paw prints from time to time – it always intrigues me that even the simplest quilted texture looks incrediby rich in the right light

Happy stitching!

 

6 Responses to “Away with friends”

  1. Alison Says:

    Definitely things here to drool over, encourage and stimulate … I never ceased to be stirred by the elegance of simple quilting designs … the new book looks a definite winner! Thanks for this post … encourages me to keep going … bestest, Alison

  2. Hannelore Says:

    Barbara, what was MY cat doing on your quilt?? I didn’t realize she had sneaked out and gone visiting. :)

    That piece of Rose and Hubble fabric is drop-dead gorgeous! So, what are you going to do, stroke it or use it??

    I have imposed a fabric-buying-ban on myself for this year. I hope it’ll force me to use some of my favourite fabrics.

    Lorchen


  3. Lovely to see you Barbara. Love to all if you get this before the end of the weekend!
    Vivienne


  4. Ha!, glad you are finally updating your blog but get off that laptop and sew woman. I know you can. Looks like the volunteer crew did you proud. Have a great weekend. Did you take any oatcakes?

  5. maggi Says:

    Glad you are having some well deserved you-time. Lovely to see all the samples together. Have you been serenading everyone in the evenings?

  6. Andrea Says:

    I can look on the pictures of the white strippy again and again…just beautiful. These old quilts really touches my heart and I would love to listen to their lifetime stories… thank you for posting this! By the way – the cat paws are adorable!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 258 other followers

