One show after another

May 10, 2012

The past few weeks have been fairly hectic and I’m now home for only a few days to turn around and get ready for Quilts UK at Malvern next week.  Last week was the much-anticipated trip over land and sea to the Open European Quilt Championships at Veldhoven.   Judging, teaching and demonstrating alongside an exhibit of some of my vintage quilts and some of my Tentmaker pieces, plus LOTS of quilts and traders to enjoy, an excellent hotel (and food!) and many lovely quilters to meet – how hard can it be??  You can find videos from the show and all sorts of other goodies over on the OEQC website - do go and take a look for yourself, and perhaps make a plan to visit next year.

Here’s a detail of what, for me, was one of the outstanding quilts in the show – “Serpentin“, a wonderful wholecloth that was pretty near perfect in every way, and an equally wonderful surprise when I discovered that it was made by Andrea Stracke.   Andrea and I first corresponded with each other way back in 1993 or 1994 I think, shortly after “The Essential Quilter” was published, and it has been a great pleasure to see her work at UK shows.

The detail and workmanship on Jane Rollason’s quilt ” Elizabethan Flowers” was pretty good too -

Then there was a quilt from the inimitable Sandie Lush – ” Whig Rose

A really quick glimpse of just a few quilts in the championships -

A charming detail from Sheena Norquay’s sampler

I did manage to acquire a few fabrics -

(- some of these are from the last visit to Cupcake Cottons in Burford just before I left for the show.  Thanks for a great day, Jackie & Steph, I’m looking forward to next year already!)

One of the features of the OEQC show is the number and diversity of guest collections.  Two that were very popular were from Reiko Kato and Joes Meester & Isabeau Reinders Folmer

My Judge’s Choice was “Hommage a Monet” by Hilde van Schaardenburg

It was fun to see the Dutch edition of Essential Quilter for the first time -

and to see some of those quilts from the cupboard on display.

The last day of the show I was teaching Tentmaker applique and was so busy I almost forgot to take pictures -

And if I don’t stop now this post will be far too long and I will be even further behind with the preparations for next week.

Happy stitching!

7 Responses to “One show after another”


  1. Fab post Barbara. How interesting to see the Dutch version of EQ – that took me back! V x


  2. What a difficult job you had judging such beautiful quilts but I would love to own that fabulous hexagon quilt. Just my colours.


  3. Glad you had a good trip. I look forward to seeing your new purchases in action – or are they just for stroking at the moment?I’ve just started a smallish tentmaker piece and my bias tape just doesn’t seem bendy enough! Any tips?

  4. Andrea Says:

    Thank you for the beautiful pictures from Veldhoven! Unfortunately I couldn’t be there, but maybe next time. Have fun in Malvern!

  5. Sally Ickes Says:

    Love your blog. And, what is tentmaker appliqué? Sally


  6. Wow, what beautiful work. I like the pinky/browns by Reiko Kato and Joes Meester & Isabeau Reinders Folmer! See you at Malvern I expect!


  7. Great report on the show at Veldhoven and such wonderful quilts. I am intrigued with your Tentmakers applique class and wondered if they use a 6in needle and enormous shears to cut the thread and fabric pieces like I saw the Tentmakers use when they visited Melbourne some years ago. Take care.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 256 other followers

