Design stuff

July 6, 2013

After a lot of playing around with gadgets, apps and stylus and having fun, I found myself scribbling on real paper with a real pencil.  Even more fun!  I started with a small leather coin purse acquired in Denver

Denver purse

and it went from there.  I’m fairly sure that some good new designs will come out of this little creative burst.  Usually I just work with pencil and pen lines but this time I thought it might be interesting to fill in some random colour – helpful for looking for applique possibilities as well.  Here’s a selection of the reference pictures I took so you can see how things developed -

starter sketch

developing motifs

motif #2

add colour

change section

change colour

change section

change again

change again

add circles

 

I foresee a whole new set of patterns – perhaps for shadow applique too? – in the next few weeks!

12 Responses to “Design stuff”

  1. Andrea Says:

    Beautiful! I like all those variations. They would also be suitable for a center of a wholecloth cot quilt…please keep on scribbling, Barbara, you inspire me a lot!


  2. Love it! I love to see all your great (and inspiring!) Ideas!!
    Kerry


  3. You just never know where or when inspiration is going to strike. They all look good. Enjoy playing.

  4. Lyn Says:

    Love them all – I wouldn’t know which one to start with. I can picture a whole quilt with every block having the same design but slightly different!

  5. Maggi Says:

    I’m liking those colour combinations.

  6. Ann Says:

    So many designs and all done with mirrors – inspirational!

  7. irene Says:

    This is soo excting – I love it


  8. WOW these are amazing, and seemingly—just like that..

  9. leecleland Says:

    Lots of good stuff happening here.

  10. debbiewendt Says:

    Wonderful!!! Love how the simplicity explodes into awesome!!!

  11. Helen Wilson Says:

    I really like these, I think even I could have a go!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 257 other followers

