Nearly a New Year

The snow has gone and so has Christmas.  Here in deepest middle England we’re still drying out from a second major watery incident involving a LOT of gushing water around and over old oak beams, old plaster, old brickwork and old wiring,  and gathering ourselves to get started on a whole new year.  Lots of things to do, both stitching and teaching,  and I’m ready to dive in and make lists, chop up fabric, make more lists, stitch fabric back together, write instructions, draw patterns and generally create a small quilting whirlwind.  This is absolutely not one of those New Year Resolutions – more a New Year Have To Do, which is not quite the same thing.

Rummaging through my bookshelves after the first watery incident, I “found” this slim Dover book

which arrived as a gift (from a friend who knows me only too well!) this summer.  There’s most definitely enough in here to get some creative juices flowing

The upcoming set of  Chris&Barbara  local evening classes have given me the perfect excuse to cut into my (very small) stash of Cherrywood Fabrics and I’ve spent a happy couple of hours cutting strips and squares to start the class samples in a cloud of spray starch.  

I got sidetracked during some blogreading and found that I’d downloaded a full set of applique patterns for a most delightful quilt “Florabunda” designed by Erin Russek over at One Piece at a Time – these are only available until 5th January so you’ll need to move quickly.

I didn’t get around to spending time with the Whigs Defeat templates after all (thanks to the watery incidents) but somehow I did manage to lose my favourite silver thimble somewhere in the house.  Funny how you get hugely attached to particular tools/equipment – I have several other equally good thimbles, but that one was absolutely the most comfortable etc etc and I shall miss it dreadfully.  Of course, it’s my own fault for always carrying it around in my righthand trouser pocket – if it was kept safely zipped into my sewing kit this wouldn’t have happened.  I’m nursing the secret and irrational hope that, by mentioning it here, it will magically reappear from wherever it is hiding …

The first stitching of 2011 will probably be the binding on 2 quilts and then perhaps I’ll get that much-anticipated hour with Whigs Defeat, or at least just a few lines of handquilting.  Memo to self – must put in some time on my website and get that tidied and updated too. 

May we all have more quilting time in the year ahead – very best wishes to everyone for 2011.

11 thoughts on “Nearly a New Year

  1. Sounds like you have the first week of the year planned. LOL .
    I am sure the thimble will turn up eventually when of course you least expect it.
    Hope all the watery events get solved over the coming weeks and I hope you have a wonderful busy 2011.
    Regards
    Sue

  2. Happy New Year Barbara! Sorry to hear about the watery Christmas – what a nightmare! The thimble is sure to turn up again. I lost a gold bracelet once, missing for over a year. Then I found it in the bottom of an empty carrier bag in a cupboard as I was clearing out stuff. It was pure fluke that I noticed it and didn’t just throw the bag out! Jacky and Steph x

  3. I found one of your books at our local guild meeting and fell in love with it. Had to get one for myself. It was out of print but I was able to pick it up online. I bought it to learn how to quilt on my sewing machine. I also belong to Dover publishing site. If you sign up for it they will send you over the internet free samples of pages in some of their books. They do have some interesting designs.

  4. Happy New Year to you Oh Great One. I shall look forward to meeting up with you at some point for that promised bit of sewing. That book looks interesting and I love those Cherrywood fabrics, have had to resist the button on many an occasion. Hope the thimble turns up.
    Love Our Kid.xx

  5. Happy New Year, Barbara! I’m quite sure you will find your thimble somewhere in the house. I wish we all have a lot of time for quilting and our creative work in 2011! I’m looking forward to your next posts.

  6. I understand all about watery disasters as we are in the middle of our “Wet” season. I am feeling a bit exhausted after reading your current “to do” list and am looking for some extra energy so I can take a leaf out of your book and finish some projects. I have nearly finished the top of a new beginners class quilt since Christmas so I suppose that is something. Thank you for the inspiration I find in your blog. Happy New Year!

  7. I’m always losing thimbles, one of the reasons I won’t by a gorgeous one, as much as I would love one! I hope it turns up soon.

    I had that book arrive too and your right, lots to chose from.

    Have a wonderful 2011, chink chink!

    Ax

Leave a Reply

