Anniversary giveaway

 Recovered and re-charged from the wonderful quilting retreat, it’s time to do something specific about my blog anniversary and the traditional giveaway concept seems to be a great way to celebrate.   As many of you know, I feel particularly connected to Egypt, and so I thought an appropriate giveaway would be a cushion/pillow sized (16inch square approx) piece of Tentmaker applique (featuring my favourite Egyptian blue) together with a copy of my first Egyptian-themed pattern book –

I have Carla Barrett at Feathered Fibers to thank for her inspiration and encouragement in actually getting started with a blog – not to mention all those of you who have subscribed, commented, lurked or looked, or have blogs or contacts on my sidebar.  I’m not going to make this into a full rollcall but thanks are very much in order for my quilting partner in crime, Chris Franses who has kept our Chris&Barbara enterprise on the rails over the past year. And, although he probably won’t see this, I would like to pay tribute to Himself who has been patient, generous and forbearing way beyond his usual limits.

So, the deal for the traditional giveaway is also traditional – leave a comment at the foot of this post if you would like to be included in the draw, which will take place on Friday 18th February.   I’m off to play loud music and perhaps stitch that final quarter of Whigs Defeat …..

42 thoughts on “Anniversary giveaway

  1. What a lovely idea! As for the book, it looks to be yet another delight. If I’m not lucky in the draw, where can I get a copy? And if it’s not yet published and you’re interested in an editor, I’m available! I’ve enjoyed your blog immensely, not least because it’s so encouraging and inspiring for a relative newcomer. Hope the coming year is as fruitful for you.
    best wishes, Alison

  2. Love the colours, and the design too of course! Please enter me, would fit the colour scheme of my living room perfectly if I won. Found your blog thanks to Vivienne.

  3. happy blogavversary, i have a friend who this would make a fantastic gift for, (shes jordanian but has close ties with egypt).

  4. Congratulations…….I am so glad that you were convinced to get your own blog underway…..we are able meet so many wonderful like minded, generous (and of course ultra talented) quilters through this technology.
    The book looks to be of great inspiration and that panel? well I think it would make the most delicious center medallion for a quilt, large or small.
    Someone will be very excited next Friday!

  5. I am so pleased that the wonderful Carla encouraged you to start blogging….it’s addictive isn’t?
    We are all so fortunate to live in this age where the world really IS small….We are all so interwoven and connected by our various threads…pun intended!
    I love your Egyptian panel, I love blues of any hue, it would be a treasure to receive!

    Best Wishes
    Kay in Scotland

  6. Congratulations on your first!
    I hope your tent makers of Cairo will benefit from the new regime and those skills will be nurtured even more now.
    Going to love seeing your whigs defeat as I love the colours.

  7. I would love to win your tentmakers quilt book and cushion cover. I have a small collection thanks to a great friend,but no blue. Ienjoy your blog. I have your last book. Thanks much.

  8. Enjoy your blog and your work so much. Am grateful for the internet that brings talented quilting mentors like you to my home! A great inspiration.
    The designs are wonderful!

    Thank you.

  9. Hi
    love the blog having been on a couple of your classes and a weekend at Mitlton Keynes in the snow
    a couple of years ago, I always look at what you are doing as your work is fab., and I am very envious of your skill.
    Tx

  10. Happy Anniversary!
    Hubby and I had a weeks sunshine by the Red Sea this January- saw some Egyptian cushion covers for sale, but nothing as lovely as your offering, Barbara.

  11. I absolutely love your blog and am especially honored to be on the list of blogs that you read. So my fingers, toes, and eyes are crossed in hopes of winning these great prizes. Happy quilting and a great 2011!

  12. Happy Anniversary, Barbara!

    A friend of mine has her 60th birthday looming, so I took her upstairs and told her to pick any of my quilts as a gift. I was sure she’d go for a ‘girly’ one, but she walked out clutching one I made during one of your all night mysteries. The woman has got taste!! Lorchen

  13. Congratulations Barbara on the 100 milestone and what a wonderful prize you are offering. The Tentmakers applique piece really struck a cord with me and I have unearthed my own example of their work and just put in up on my blog.
    I have really enjoyed reading your posts and always look forward to seeing one come up on my reading list. I am looking forward to reading lots more. Take care.

  14. Happy 1st anniversary! I really enjoy reading your blog – the Egyptian applique is stunning. Maybe I’ll be lucky, although I’m not on the whole. My last win in a local raffle was a pot of ‘grow your own parsley’. I was overwhelmed!

  15. Happy bloganniversary, Barbara! What a wonderful giveaway, I would really love to win…please put me in the draw!
    Thank you for all your work you put in here and please go on with it! I always look forward reading your next posts. Andrea

  16. Happy blogiversary, I’m so glad you started. The tentmakers cushion and the book are a very generous giveaway, we’ve had the tentmakers here in Australia but I never got to see them.

  17. Happy anniversary, and what a generous giveaway! I was so excited to find your blog last Spring, as your Quilt It! is one of my prized possessions and great inspiration is always found here.

  18. Happy 1st anniversary! What a beautiful cushion, someone is going to be very lucky. I already feel lucky as I have you and Chris as my teachers. See you next week.
    Tracy

  19. hello,
    I was surfing on the net to find information on the tentmakers quilts and here I found your blog! happy anniversary!
    Hope it is not too late to enter the draw; if I a am not lucky, where could I find a copy of your book?
    All the best

Leave a Reply

