Another show almost over

My favourite quilt show of the year – Quilts UK at Malvern.  I have had the same spot in the main hall for 20 years, and this year is no exception.  It’s been busy since the first morning and by day 2 I was very close to selling out of all the books I had for sale – thank goodness I had ordered extras of the 2 new Little Treasures pattern books (I hope to have these available on my website in a week or two).

Once the show is open there’s no chance for me to take any pictures of anything, so I usually make an early start and whizz round the quilt exhibits.  There is a LOT of eye candy this year in addition to the competition quilts, exhibits of quilts by Liz Jones, Gwenfai Rees Griffiths and Sally Bramald being particularly noteworthy.  My runaround the quilt aisles began with Andrea Stracke’s entry – I arrived in front of her quilt just as the third ribbon was being pinned in place – well done Andrea, another well-deserved win!

Andrea's ribbons

detail, Andrea Stracke's quilt

Turning the corner I paused in front of this quilt just as the ribbons were being pinned on it too – the overall champion quilt by Pauline Barnes

Pauline Barnes

Liz Jones’s quilts are stunning at any distance

Liz Jones

Liz Jones

 

Liz Jones

 

Gwenfai’s work is always meticulous

 

Gwenfai Rees Griffiths

 

Gwenfai Rees Griffiths

 

Gwenfai Rees Griffiths

Sally Bramald has carried a number of machine quilting techniques forward with quality and style

Sally Bramald

 

Sally Bramald

 

Sally Bramald

I’m putting this post together in my lovely temporary home – the view is something like this

great outlook

and I’ve managed to leave my showguide booklet behind, so the next few glimpses will have to be anonymous and uncredited for the moment.  Hope you like some of the details that have caught my eye –

Sheena Norquay

winner, miniatures

machine quilted texture

from "Fast Quilts.."?

strippy landscape

group quilt winner

great machine quilting

very stylish

Reds under the Bed

I’m going to stop at this point and get ready for day 3 and whatever it may bring, including remembering to bring the showguide back with me to add in the credits above and perhaps a few more pictures.  Have a great weekend.

POSTSCRIPT Day 3:  Some interesting technical issues with this post and the pictures which I hope are now resolved.

7 thoughts on “Another show almost over

  1. Thank you so much for posting the pictures of the Malvern show, Barbara! It’s a little bit like being there. I feel very proud and honoured…

  2. Lovely tempting teasers of Malvern Quilt Show. But – I can see the first 3 photos then miss 8 then can see all the rest. Is it just my computer being upside down (Australia) or is anyone else having the same problem?

Leave a Reply

