Quilting up close

Just before I arrive at Denman college to teach Essentials of Hand Quilting I thought I’d show you the embarrassingly small amount of quilting that’s been achieved during the last four days at the quilt show. I’ve talked to a lot of people during this time and answered a lot of questions but I have to say that the standard of my stitching has suffered. This is inevitable given all the distractions but it has made me realise that time is marching on ..! This negative pickiness is exactly what I will be tackling in the next two days in class – we are all hyper-critical of our work, usually on a stitch by stitch basis, and it doesn’t help or improve anything. So here are some uncomfortably close pics of my demo piece as it developed during the show – crooked stitches included.

20130520-065244.jpg

20130520-065317.jpg

20130520-065337.jpg

20130520-065419.jpg

20130520-065434.jpg

20130520-065454.jpg

20130520-065512.jpg

There’s no firm plan for the end result of this design, I’m just going to let it dictate it’s own terms. Probably lots of texture, closely spaced lines, fine yarn cording the double lines which will disguise some of the crooked stitches. The original motif was taken from a furnishing fabric, sketched out by Lee Cleland and used as a handout when we presented a lecture on quilting inspiration a few years ago. Never throw anything away!!

10 thoughts on “Quilting up close

  1. I have seen those stitches up close and personal and if they were my stitches I would be mighty proud of them. I couldn’t find any crooked stitches. The colour for the fabric was an unusual choice but it worked very well and looked very contemporary. I say well done Barbara. Enjoy your time at Denman.x

  2. I agree with the previous comment.if my quilting was as good as your not so good quilting I would be over the moon. I was one of the people that chatted to you during the show !!!!!i am really looking foreward to doing a course with you in Newport soon,Binkie

  3. I think I know what you mean with “crooked stitches”….but I took me some time and intensive investigation of your pictures to figure that out. We are all our worst critics and I agree completely: it doesn’t improve anything. Have a great time at Denman college and enjoy!

  4. If I have to study that hard to try to find the crooked quilting then I don’t think you have anything to be unhappy about. Lovely designs.

  5. Impeccable hand quilting from a machine quilter’s viewpoint. Thanks for the mention but we did that so long ago I think you can rightfully say it’s yours as I have never done anything with it.

  6. I am inclined to agree with the consensus above and wonder by we are our own worse critics. Life and experience have changed my attitude to perfection and now I just look for beautiful and interesting work and I would be proud to achieve stitches like this. Take care.

  7. Love the designs, great idea taking from furnishing, I keep staring at my curtains and realised why…they have a great quilting pattern on them. I agree with Maggi B if I need a magnifying glass to see crooked stitches why bother…something about quilt police comes to mind!!!

  8. Well I looked and I looked and couldn’t see a crooked stitch anywhere – just beautiful! I like the sound of the cording in there too. Thanks for showing 🙂

  9. I would be proud to call these stitches mine. However, in the cases where improvement is needed, can you recommend a way to make stitches more even?

Leave a Reply

