Quilting at the show

A brief post from Quilt Expo Veldhoven just to try out my new gadget (you can probably guess what it is). The show is excellent, 500 quilts, traditional, art, modern, vintage – a stunning display. Of course a little retail has been indulged in (you can probably guess what that was) and the class on Essentials of Hand Quilting went well. A proper post when I return but in the meantime just a few stitching close ups, starting with my demo sample. You’ll see that I’ve worked a double line on one half of the design but not the other so that I can show what a (subtle) difference this can make –

20130504-221013.jpg

20130504-221033.jpg

20130504-221114.jpg
Above is a detail of Andrea Stracke’s award winning quilt which was hung in a much better position this year and looked splendid.
My room mate is making hexagons and trying to decide how to set them together

20130504-221433.jpg

20130504-221448.jpg
and I’ve managed more progress on that Antique Rose Star but no photos this time. One more day and it will be time to pack and head for home. A picture of my friend Wil Fritsma and a glimpse of her exhibit at the show concludes this bulletin …

20130504-221917.jpg

20130504-221928.jpg

20130504-221943.jpg

7 thoughts on “Quilting at the show

  1. unbelievable is the internet.
    I just read your blog and this morning I talked to you, watched you work and bought the book with the egyptian patterns. I love them!!!
    And I forgive you the not so positive judgement on my quilt last year ;-)…I hope I learned from it and will do better this year, at least I’ll try my best!!

  2. I love your demo sample and I agree: the double lines make such a difference. I have also used the method several times. Wil’s work looks really interesting and it’s wonderful to hear that my quilt found an advantageous place in the exhibition. Thank you for posting and I am looking forward for some more pictures when you are back home. Have a safe journey!

  3. The pictures are super Barbara – it,s a must now for me to do the double row of quilting on the project I,m working on at present. Thanks so much for sharing

  4. I agree with featheronawire’s remark, so much more work for you than the machine quilters, we zip round, but you have to plod, but I mean that in the best possible way. The double lines are worth it. Lovely items in this post. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

